InTrans / Apr 20, 2021

ACS recognizes bio-based asphalt research team

Asphalt Materials and Pavements Program (AMPP) Director Chris Williams is part of a research team that recently earned recognition from the American Chemical Society (ACS) for its research on bio-based thermoplastic polymers for paving processes.

The team received the 2021 Cooperative Research Award in Polymer Science & Engineering that recognizes and encourages sustained cooperative research between industrial and academic or industrial and national laboratory scientists. They were officially presented the award during the ACS Spring Meeting in April, where they also provided a lecture on their research titled “Putting Soy-Based Thermoplastics to Work in the Construction Industry.”

The team also includes Iowa State University Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering (CBE) Professor Eric Cochran and industrial partner Donald Sjogren of Seneca Petroleum Company. More information about the award and the team’s research is available here.

Additional information about Williams’ research is also available here and here.